Our Board

Nature Foundation is a company limited by guarantee under the Corporations Act 2001 and is managed by a Board of Directors that meets monthly.

The Board is elected by members at our AGM and all Board directors work for the organisation in a voluntary capacity, bringing their considerable skills and experience to the governance of Nature Foundation.

Jan Ferguson OAM
Jan is a leader and strategist for the 21st century. Her deep experience in innovation, knowledge and enterprise management is fused with a passion for people, teamwork, social justice especially for rural and remote Australia. She has a flair for building effective partnerships across industry, government, academia and the community to solve major challenges. Having lived in Beltana in northern SA, and Alice Springs, NT, she is committed to building a better future for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and all remote Australians.
Professor Philip Weinstein
Deputy Chair
Philip is Chair of the Nature Conservation Committee and ensures that our research effort underpins the management of our reserves and our community engagement. Phil has qualifications in ecology (PhD) and public health medicine (MBBS, FAFPHM) and his current research focus is on the ecosystem services provided by biodiversity conservation – including human health benefits. He holds a full-time research position in the School of Biological Sciences at the University of Adelaide and is a Research Affiliate of the South Australian Museum.
Douglas Ransom
Douglas’s experience spans local government, transport, health and finance in the not for profit sector and has qualifications as a CPA, a Certified Informations Systems Auditor and a Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance and Investment.
Millie Nicholls
Millie is a partner in a family farm and has been involved in environmental work since completing a Science degree in 1994. She has significant Council and board experience and was instrumental in forming two Landcare Groups and a private conservation company. She has a passionate interest in native grasslands and the sustainable management of natural resources.
Angela Hazebroek OAM
Angela is a strategic planner and community engagement specialist and co-founding Director of respected South Australian planning firm Urban and Regional Planning Solutions. She has extensive experience in tourism planning, visitor management planning for protected natural areas and facilitation of water and natural resources planning and implementation projects.
Mervyn Lewis OAM JP
Mervyn is a Life Member of Nature Foundation and since retirement from farming in the Upper North of SA, has been a volunteer on the Foundation’s nature reserves. Mervyn brings considerable experience as Chairperson, Deputy Chairperson and Member on a wide range of boards and committees.
Bec Hardy
Bec owns and manages her own wine business Bec Hardy Wines with her husband, and has a Bachelor’s degree in Agricultural Science (Viticulture), a Graduate Certificate in Business and a Diploma in Wine. She has been a committee member of Nature Foundation for five years, and continues her family’s long-standing association with Nature Foundation with Bec’s grandmother Barbara Hardy being one of the founders.
Anne-Marie Barbaro
Anne-Marie is a senior finance leader with over 20 years’ experience in the accounting industry, with roles in management and financial reporting, audit and assurance engagements and small business taxation compliance. She holds a Graduate Diploma of Chartered Accounting, a Bachelor of Commerce and is a Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants and the Golden Key International Honor Society.

Let's Stay In Touch

Sign up to receive email updates about our work and how you can help nature. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Please see our privacy policy for details of how we will use your information and keep it safe and secure.