Read our 2023 Impact Report here

Our Patrons

Nature Foundation’s patrons have a strong passion for nature and a deep commitment to conservation.

Dr Barbara Hardy AO

Barbara is co-founder of Nature Foundation. She has worked in the environmental field in a voluntary capacity since the early 1970s, and studied Earth Sciences at Flinders University following a Science Degree at the University of Adelaide.

Barbara has been a Commissioner of the Australian Heritage Commission, President of Nature Foundation, President of the Investigator Science and Technology Centre and Chair of the South Australian Landcare Committee.

Barbara was appointed an Officer of the General Division of the Order of Australia in 1987, received an Honorary Doctorate from Flinders University in 1993, an Advance Australia Award 1991, a SA Great Award 1992, an Institution of Engineers Medal 1992, and an ABC Eureka Award for the Advancement of Science 1994. She was named South Australian Citizen of the Year in 1996 and South Australian Senior Australian of the Year in 2014.

Barbara is the Patron of the University of South Australia's Barbara Hardy Institute which was created in 2011 and brings together scientists, engineers and social scientists to work together with a focus on sustainability of our society.

Dick Smith AC
Nature Foundation Patron

Dick, founder of Australian Geographic magazine, met Barbara Hardy in 1986 and learned of our work at Coongie Lakes Wetlands.

He was Australian of the Year in 1986, and in 1992 he was awarded the Lindbergh Award, an international award for a lifetime achievement of balancing technology and the environment. Dick was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 1999 for his services to the community, charity and business, and the Companion of the Order of Australia in 2015. In 2010 he founded media production company Smith & Nasht to create films about global issues. He became our Patron in 2011.

Reg Nelson
Nature Foundation Patron

Reg is an exploration geophysicist with over four decades' experience in the minerals and petroleum industries including as former director of Mineral Development for South Australia, director and chairman of the APPEA Board and Managing Director of Beach Energy Limited (1995-2015). Reg has been recognised through honorary Life Membership of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists, the Prime Minister’s Centenary Medal and the Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association’s Reg Sprigg Gold Medal. Nature Foundation recognised his support of the environment through the honorary award of Life Membership in 2010 and nomination as Fellow in 2012.

Let's Stay In Touch

Sign up to receive email updates about our work and how you can help nature. You can unsubscribe at any time.

Please see our privacy policy for details of how we will use your information and keep it safe and secure.